Kateřina Šedá: at sixes and sevens (von links nach schräg)

Kateřina Šedá is interested in collective processes and the potential of the individuals who are – or become – involved in them. She questions habits and searches for alternatives. Her immediate surroundings are often the starting point of her artistic actions: in 2011 she was contacted by a 14-year-old schoolboy from Zastávka, a small town near Brno. Together with five friends, he wished to change people’s perception of the town where they went to school. Impressed by the boy’s initiative, Šedá began to do some artistic field research with the group of young people. During the course of these investigations Zastávka, a place with no centre and no perspective orientation, took on more and more of a model character.

The exhibition ›at sixes and sevens‹ is about changes and the possibility of thinking them through and trying them out in a playful way. The title describes a state of disorder, of potential, implying an open process. The versatile architecture of the new GfZK building, which enables all kinds of references to external spaces and links between its individual rooms to be established, provides an excellent framework for a bold experiment: together with six young people, Kateřina Šedá will create a walk-in, interactive town model of Zastávka. The main objective here is not to produce a precise reconstruction, but rather to portray the individual approaches of the participants, the questions they ask and the knowledge they gain during their field research, and the social interaction they experience during the working process. At the same time, Kateřina Šedá integrates several former site specific participatory projects into the all-over structure of the exhibition ›at sixes and sevens‹.

http://www.thisisnotaczechpavilion.org/

GFZK FÜR DICH: exhibition Raus in die Stadt and the project Comic Meets L.E. City 2022

BaTeZo Ka MiKiLu: Zastávka
on the occasion of the exhibition ›AT SIXES AND SEVENS (VON LINKS NACH SCHRÄG)‹, 21.09.2013–05.01.2014 Katerina Seda in cooperation with BaTeZo Ka MiKiLu, Hrsg.: Julia Schäfer for the Museum of Contemporary Art Leipzig, Leipzig: Spector Books, 2014 (de/cz/en); Price: 16€

More information

Text and Downloads

Kindly supported by

ksb_orangeKulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsendtzf-logo-farbig-jpg-format
Loading …

Kateřina Šedá: at sixes and sevens (von links nach schräg)

Kateřina Šedá interessiert sich für kollektive Prozesse und für das Potenzial derjenigen, die ihre AkteurInnen sind und/oder zu jenen werden. Sie hinterfragt Gewohnheiten und sucht nach Alternativen. Dabei ist ihre unmittelbare Umgebung oft Ausgangspunkt künstlerischer Handlungen: Im Jahr 2011 wurde sie von einem 14-jährigen Schüler aus Zastávka, einer Kleinstadt in der Nähe von Brno, kontaktiert. Gemeinsam mit fünf FreundInnen wollte er an der Wahrnehmung der Stadt, in der sie zur Schule gehen, etwas verändern. Beeindruckt von der Initiative der Jugendlichen, startete Šedá mit ihnen eine künstlerische Feldforschung. Zastávka als ein Ort ohne Zentrum und ohne perspektivische Ausrichtung gewann im Zuge dieser Auseinandersetzung immer mehr Modellcharakter.

In der Ausstellung ›at sixes and sevens‹ geht es also um Veränderungen und die Möglichkeit, diese zu denken und spielerisch zu erproben. Der Titel umschreibt einen Zustand des Durcheinanders, des Potenziellen und impliziert einen offenen Prozess. Die veränderbare Architektur des GfZK-Neubaus, die viele Bezüge zum Außenraum ermöglicht und deren Räume auf vielfältige Weise miteinander in Dialog treten, wird zum Rahmen eines kühnen Experiments: Gemeinsam mit den sechs Jugendlichen hat Kateřina Šedá im Ausstellungsraum ein begehbares und interaktives Stadtbild von Zastávka realisiert. Dabei geht es weniger um eine akribische räumliche Rekonstruktion. Vielmehr werden die individuellen Ansätze der Beteiligten, die Fragen und Erkenntnisse der gemeinsamen Feldforschung und die sozialen Interaktionen in diesem Arbeitsprozess dargestellt. Gleichzeitig integriert Kateřina Šedá einige frühere partizipative und ortsspezifische Projekte in die Struktur des All-overs der Ausstellung ›at sixes and sevens‹ .

http://www.thisisnotaczechpavilion.org/

GFZK FÜR DICH: Ausstellung Raus in die Stadt und das Projekt Comic Meets L.E. City 2022

BaTeZo Ka MiKiLu: Zastávka
anlässlich der Ausstellung AT SIXES AND SEVENS (VON LINKS NACH SCHRÄG), 21.09.2013–05.01.2014, Katerina Seda in Zusammenarbeit mit BaTeZo Ka MiKiLu, Hrsg.: Julia Schäfer für die Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig, Leipzig: Spector Books, 2014 (de/cz/en); Preis: 16€

Weiterführende Beiträge

Texte und Downloads

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

ksb_orangeKulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsendtzf-logo-farbig-jpg-format
Lädt…